OTJ: Makin’ it Better

I have been thinking more (a lot more) about training and development and the areas I find interesting. One such area is the on-job-training (OTJ). OTJ is very common, can be formal or informal, dominant form of training in many organizations. For a brief overview, see On-the-job training .

From my experience, OTJ has occurred something like this:

Supervisor: “Mike, go talk with Steve, he knows how to do the process X.”

Mike: “Hey Steve, our supervisor wants you to show me how to do process x.”

Steve: “okay, here is how you do it……done”

Mike: “okay, I think I got it. Thanks.”

My guess is that this is a typical scenario in many organizations. From a training and development experience, there are few things wrong here and few ways for improvement.

First, the wrong. There was:

  • No baseline assessment to see if Mike knew how to do process X
  • No evaluation of whether Mike could execute process X after the demonstration
  • No documentation or job aide (step-by-step/how-to guide) was done
  • No verification of learning

Second, the fix:

  • Explain context
  • Demonstrate to learner
  • Explain steps
  • Document process (note taking)
  • Have learner demonstrate process
  • Check-in with learner to ensure that they are doing the process

Following a few simple steps with OTJ can make it more effective for the learner and organization.

Published by michaeldvorscak

I have achieved an MS in performance improvement and training and development from Northern Michigan University (NMU). Currently, I’m working towards an MS in information systems and cyber security through Central Michigan University (CMU). My interests are cyber security, social engineering, security and small business, network and physical security, and cyber security in the property management industry. I would like to combine the two areas of performance improvement and cyber security. This blog reflects that as well as defending against the dark art (and science) of cyber-attacks and current issues in the field.

Leave a comment