Home > Uncategorized > University of the People Journey!

University of the People Journey!

I was recently accepted into the University of the People – Computer Science Associate’s degree Program. I am excited about this new journey and have decided to chronicle it here. For those unfamiliar with the University, you can get an idea what it’s all about here and here.  In short, it is a tuition free (fees still apply) online university.

For sometime, I had been looking to take courses in computer science and programming with the goal of pursuing employment in this area (transitioning out of housing and property management).  After considering a few options, I choose UofPeople because:

  • Opportunity to gain tech skills and knowledge
  • Connect with others across the globe
  • Affordability (For the record, I did not apply for a scholarship for the fees, there are others more in need than myself)
  • Flexibility of online courses

My motivation for applying was not to get a degree (although this is nice), but to learn more about computer science and programming. Of course, I was hoping to take the Fundamentals of Programming my first semester, but I am “stuck” in globalization. In my past life, I was an international relations/comparative politics person, so I am kind of excited about the course.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

