Home > Social Media, Technology, Twitter, Uncategorized > #Twitter Purge 2016

#Twitter Purge 2016

Well, I am back to being active on Twitter. It is has been a love/hate relationship. I think this time, I am back and committed to it.

This seems typical of most resolutions. They start with enthusiasm and then it wanes and by March and the person is back to their old habits. …but we’ll see. I even changed my avatar and background.

Regardless, I was reviewing my string and did some purging. It felt good to remove some of those people/organizations that I followed.

 

Purge is a harsh word, I “unfollowed” the following types:

  • Large news organizations (I’m just not going to use twitter for breaking news).
  • Financial and real estate sites were unfollowed. This reflects a shift in interests.
  • People with annoying names. For example I unfollowed one “freak” and another with “fart” in their names. I just couldn’t handle it.
  • Unfollowed were those that kept spamming me ads and pitches to buy stuff.
  • Deleted were those that bombard me with inspirational and motivational messages about change and improvement. Apparently they motivated me!

I tried not to unfollow those who were individuals or those that posted with things relative to my interests such as geekdom, tech, science fiction, and e-learning. Unless they just annoyed the shit out of me.

The truth is, I am pretty excited about having a cleaner feed and about getting information about things, I am interested in and want to pursue.

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

