Transition Manifesto

Sometimes when I want to find clarification of my clear clarity, I find it easiest to write. I think this is the case with many people. Currently, I am looking to transition away from my current position as an Assistant Property Manager. There are a variety of reasons I am pursuing this transition such as it feels like the right time in my life (other changes are occurring too),  challenging residents and property site, and the occasional internal frustration. I have come to grips with residents yelling at me and killing roaches in my office for the last few years, no doubt it has gotten very tiring. Regardless there are multitude of other things going on and it feels like the right time. Excited and embracing change.

My plan is to land a position that will allow me to eventually switch into more  of a technology role. To facilitate this transition, I am looking at a variety of position inside and outside of my industry. I am less concerned about the position or industry as long as it meets my qualifications, which are:

  • Reduced commute time
  • Equal or greater compensation
  • Opportunity to grow/transition into IT/Technology role

I am flexible with the above. Of course the ideal would be to make a $100,000 year watching NETFLIX at home.  All three qualifications met.

To get from “here” to “there,” I am currently:

  • Working through tutorials at Treehouse, Code Academy, Cybrary, and other sites.
  • Checking out local resources meet-ups, lectures, events, books at the library
  • Looking into taking courses at local community college or even a second MS degree
  • Continued positive web and social media presence in general and areas of interest

In general to put as many lines in the water as I can.

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

